Recently Acquired Works on Paper Spanning 400 Years on View Starting September 23 at the Clark
For Immediate Release
September 20, 2006
A stunning drawing of The Annunciation, c. 1568, is the first work by the Renaissance painter Luca Cambiaso to join the Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute’s collection. This study, which builds on the Clark’s collection of Old Master drawings, will be included in a special exhibition of 12 works on paper donated to the Clark during the past two years. Open Saturday, September 23 through January 7, 2007, Works on Paper: A Selection of Recent Gifts includes works from the 16th to 20th centuries highlighting the Clark’s ever-expanding collection of prints, drawings, and photographs.
"The Clark's collection of works on paper has seen dramatic growth since the founding of the institution 50 years ago,” said James Ganz, the Clark’s curator of prints, drawings, and photographs. “The acquisitions program has benefited tremendously from gifts of works of art, like those highlighted in the current exhibition."
The installation includes three fascinating works by Jacques Villon, the oldest of three brothers who became major 20th-century artists. Villon’s avant-garde etching of his brother Raymond’s sculpted Bust of Baudelaire, purchased by the Clark in 1962, has been joined by three later representations of the same subject by Villon in the mediums of pencil, pen and ink, and monotype. These new acquisitions include Villon’s pencil drawing Group of Sculptures in the Atelier of Raymond Duchamp-Villon (1923), a monotype in color entitled Bust of Baudelaire (1942), and a pen and ink drawing also titled Bust of Baudelaire (1949). These works were donated by Lola and Edwin Jaffe and extend the museum’s collection beyond its founders’ vision.
An 1896 photograph by James Breese, Le Desir: Portrait of Yvette Guilbert, and a circa 1910-12 pencil drawing by William James Glackens, Eight Figures, Washington Square, New York, along with the Cambiaso drawing, are the first works by these artists to become part of the Clark’s lively and dynamic collection of works on paper. The Breese photograph joins many lithographs by Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec of the Moulin Rouge performer Yvette Giulbert, of the same period.
Works on Paper also includes Portraits of Charles Percier, Pierre- François-Leonard Fontaine, and Claude-Louis Bernier, a c. 1805 chalk drawing by Louis-Leopold Boilly; Study for a Fountain at Nymphenburg, an 1852 pencil drawing by Adolf van Menzel; A Pond in the Forest, a c. 1850-60 charcoal drawing by Contstant Troyon; Studies of Jane Morris’s Arms, two c. 1875 pastels by Mary Evelyn de Morgan; and Portrait of a Woman, an undated ink drawing by Augustin Théodule Ribot. These works represent the generous donations of Robert and Lillian Fraker, Paula and Mack Lee, and David Jenness.
Three of these acquisitions will be highlighted during the “Looking at Lunchtime” gallery talk series this fall. These half hour gallery talks held at 12:30 pm include Group of Sculptures in the Atelier of Raymond Duchamp-Villon on October 12, A Pond in the Forest on November 9, and The Annunciation on December 14.
Sterling and Francine Clark amassed some 500 drawings and 1,400 prints that formed the basis for a curatorial department devoted to works on paper—now the department of prints, drawings, and photographs—spanning the history of the graphic arts from the 15th century through the mid 20th century. The collection now numbers around 5,000 works on paper. The Clark began acquiring early photographs in 1998 and has assembled a core selection of nearly 500 photographs reflecting the quality and character of the Clark collection. Works on Paper is an example of how the Clark’s collection grows in terms of building on its strengths and expanding in new directions.
The Clark’s study room of prints, drawings, and photographs is available by advance notice. For an appointment, email email@example.com, or call 413-458-0560.
Set amidst 140 bucolic acres in the picturesque Berkshires, the Clark is one of the few major art museums in the United States that also serves as a leading international center for research and higher education. In addition to its extraordinary collections, the Clark organizes groundbreaking special exhibitions that advance new scholarship and presents an array of public and educational programs. The Clark’s research and academic programs include an international fellowship program and regular conferences, symposia, and colloquia. The Clark, together with Williams College, jointly sponsors one of the nation’s leading master’s programs in art history and encompasses one of the most comprehensive art history libraries in the world. Its Fellows and Conference Programs draw university and museum professionals from around the world.
The Clark is located at 225 South Street in Williamstown, Massachusetts. The galleries are open Tuesday through Sunday from 10 am to 5 pm (daily in July and August). Admission June 1 through October 31 is $10 for adults, free for children 18 and younger, members, and students with valid ID. Admission is free November through May. For more information, call 413-458-2303 or visit www.clarkart.edu.